UNISA College of Law

By |

UNISA College of Law

UNISA College of Law

The University of South Africa UNISA College of Law offers comprehensive open distance learning in a socially responsible and unique way that produces excellent scholarship and research, offers affordable tuition, and encourages active community engagement.

Within the African and global arenas, we are guided by the principles of lifelong learning, student-centeredness, innovation, and stakeholder engagement.

Schools and Departments

The College is divided into two schools: the School of Law (located on Unisa’s Muckleneuk Campus in the Cas van Vuuren Building) and the School of Criminal Justice (housed in Brooklyn House in Pretoria).

There are eight teaching departments at the college (five in the School of Law and three in the School of Criminal Justice).

UNISA School of Law: The school of law at the University of South Africa UNISA, consist of the following five (5) departments;

  • Department of Criminal and Procedural Law
  • Department of Jurisprudence
  • Department of Mercantile Law
  • Department of Private Law
  • Department of Public, Constitutional and International Law

UNISA School of Criminal Justice: The University of South Africa (UNISA) school of criminal justice also consist of the following three (3) departments:

  • Department of Criminology and Security Science
  • Department of Corrections Management
  • Department of Police Practice


  • Centre for Basic Legal Education
  • Centre for Business Law
  • Centre for Criminological Sciences
  • Centre for Public Law Studies
  • Centre for Indigenous Law
College of Law
Executive Dean Prof V Basdeo 012 429 8603 mbasdeo@unisa.ac.za
Deputy Executive Dean Prof Olaotse John Kole 012 429 8305 koleoj@unisa.ac.za
Director: School of Law Prof M Budeli 012 429 8476 budelm@unisa.ac.za
Director: School of Criminal Justice Dr L Morodi 012 429 3978 Morodlr@unisa.ac.za
Head: Teaching and Learning Mr M Matlala 012 429 2628 matlamm@unisa.ac.za
Head: Academic Quality Assurance & Enhancement Prof Dorothy Mmakgwale Farisani 012 429 8486 farisdm@unisa.ac.za
Acting Head: Postgraduate Studies Prof T Manamela 012 429 6041 manamte@unisa.ac.za
College of Law: student enquiries
Linda Boyi Supervisor 012 429 4105 boyipl@unisa.ac.za
Student enquiries 012 429 4718

012 429 2178

012 429 4860

012 429 2176

Written enquiries and requests for registration forms / further information should be directed to:

  • The Registrar (Academic)
  • University of South Africa
  • PO Box 392
  • Unisa, 0003


UNISA Contact Infomation

For any further information needed use the contact details below:

  • Preller Street, Muckleneuk Ridge, Pretoria
  • Sunnyside campus (applications, registrations & learning centre):
  • Cnr Justice Mahomed & Steve Biko Streets, Sunnyside, Pretoria
  • Tel: 0800 005 311
  • Email: unisa@whistleblowing.co.za

Visit Unisa’s Official Website for more information.



Unisa application fee account number

Unisa application form 2023 pdf download

Unisa my registration status

how to check Unisa application status




Leave a Reply